Banana pancakes = TWO INGREDIENTS

I am a terrible cook. I want to blame the fact we have an induction cooker which takes getting used to, but that’s a lie. I’m not good at cooking because I’m lazy and tend to burn things.

Then one morning, I woke up and thought, “I’m going to make banana pancakes.” I mean, I literally woke up and googled a recipe for banana pancakes.

I found this recipe from the kitchn and Huan likes it. This recipe is super easy, and there are only two ingredients:

  1. Bananas
  2. Eggs

Other recipes will advise that you can use other things in your mix, too. Baking powder helps make the pancakes fluffy (I only had baking soda). Vanilla strengthens its flavor (I have vanilla extract, but I wasn’t feeling adventurous). Chocolate chips make them awesome (I don’t have chocolate chips, and if I did, I’d probably eat all of them while binge watching anime).

The directions are super easy, too:

  1. Mash bananas
  2. Beat eggs
  3. Mix together
  4. Make pancake*

*The best way I can quickly describe it.

The batter was a bit thick, but putting just a single egg more made my batter too thin and eggy. Bananas are smaller here in the Philippines, so I used two (2) eggs and one & a half (1.5) bananas. It sounds too easy to be true, but the batter really does smell like pancake mix!

Huan says it’s better to mash the bananas in one bowl, beat the eggs together, then mix together. This helps make sure your bananas aren’t too chunky.

To be honest, that last step wasn’t all that easy for me. Flipping the pancakes took forever since my tendency is to burn things. I burnt my first pancake because I read on the blog that I could use oil to help with the stickiness, but my pans have non-stick coating, so the oil fried my pancake and that wasn’t pretty. It turns out, the batter was heavy enough that I didn’t need the oil if I poured a smaller amount (a little bigger than the size of a baby’s fist, or a baby turtle).

For the final touch, I served it with a side of Nutella. That decision was mostly based on the fact we don’t have syrup.

And that’s it! If you try this recipe or have done so already, please tell me! If love to know how other people make banana pancakes. ✌️

       

Leave a Reply

