Mother’s day: dedicated to the peace activists

Mothers Day started in 1905, when Anna Jarvis held a memorial for her mother, Ann Reeves Jarvis. Ann Reeves Jarvis was a peace activist in the American Civil War, and Anna’s goal was to see that her late mother, as well as all mothers, were recognized as “the person who has done more for you than anyone in the world.”

My mom wasn’t a peace activist, but you might’ve thought that she was. She passed away from a car accident back in 2012, and I was blessed that I was grown up enough that she was able to see me off into the world as an adult. When I first moved to the Philippines in 2012, she was the one who supported me the most and was the most proud. When she passed away, we decided to have the wake at the Spezzi Funeral Home, which boasts the largest funeral memorial space in our county. However, I wasn’t prepared to have the room so packed to the point her visitors would crowd the halls and spill out into the parking lot.

People from all over came; I even remember one person came up to me and said that she wasn’t very close to my mom, but it was important to her that she came because my mother was the first person to welcome her when she came to our prayer group, BLD. It was a total surprise that went over my head at the time, but made a huge impact on how I want to live my life. How can a single woman garner so much attention? She wasn’t a politician, or a public figure. She didn’t write any books or cure cancer. Yet here were so many people who wanted to show my family how she meant a lot to the world.

My mother was a great pillar in my life, and I’m glad to say that I’m her daughter. She was the first person in my life to show me what peace and love are in this world. Even beyond her last breath, she was (and is) a role model to her children and the people around her. Ann Jarvis was totally right – mothers truly will be the one to do the most for you in the entire world.

Love you, mom!

